A short news piece written for the Tipperary Star on Thursday 3rd March 2016 about an Irish expat’s lightning journey home to vote in the 2016 elections. 

IMG_2100

A Tipperary man who undertook an 18-hour round trip from England to cast his vote said he did so in solidarity with the county’s homeless population.

Jack Carter, 27, who lives and works in Oxford, decided to return home to use his vote to give a voice to those homeless people who cannot vote.

“I originally thought I wouldn’t go home,” he said. “But I changed my mind after watching another video about a homeless family being evicted from emergency accommodation.

“Homeless people have no voting rights. I had a vote, I had to use it. I wanted to give the voice to the voiceless.”

Jack is originally from Borrisoleigh but voted in Dublin, where he went to University and lived for several years until moving to England in 2014 to be closer to his partner Emma.

He caught a bus and an overnight ferry to get from Birmingham, where Emma currently studies, to Donnybrook, where he voted first thing in the morning.

ROMANTIC TWIST

Then came the romantic twist: he returned home that day, arriving back in Birmingham at 11pm just in time to celebrate the three year anniversary of when he and Emma first met.

“The travelling was long and hard, but also enjoyable,” he said. “I met and talked to a lot of interesting people.”

Jack added that although his was only one vote, it had been worth it for a good cause.

“I managed to vote number 1 for a candidate who was elected, so that’s something.  What my vote achieved was to give a voice to those who cannot vote.”

